Crime


It’s cold. Very cold.

I’ve no idea where I am. A room maybe. Or hanging in space. Or perhaps in a test tube.

I dunno.

I reach out my hands, what I think are hands anyway. I can’t feel my limbs.

Limbs!

Oh right. Last I checked, I still had legs. When was the last time? What do my legs look like?

I dunno. I dunno. I dunno.

Am I seated? Or am I on my feet?

Splash!

What was that? It sounded like water.

Splash! Splash! Splash! Splash!

That sound. It’s just like before but fainter, quieter, more distant.

It is…it’s an echo. I must be in a cavernous space I conclude with a horror sculpted face.

I can’t feel my legs.

My nose is itchy. I try to scratch it. But alas! I can’t. I try again and again. I fail more times than I try.

I hear chains rattle each time I move what I can only assume are my hands.

Rattle! Rattle!

The itch is really under my skin now.

I’m mad. Green, gamma radiated, burly mad. I can’t reach the itch. I need to stomp my feet.

Whoosh!

Nothing. I hit nothing.

Oh my god. I’m suspended. Why? I wonder.

I hear a soft giggle. It’s beautiful. It’s sonorous. It sounds like black keys on a piano. It’s melancholic and beautifully dark.

It’s like a C chord. No, an F chord. It’s warm, vibrant, energetic, energizing. It feels like a sunny yet cool day on my father’s maize farm.
Who’s my father? Do I have family?

A tear snakes down my cheek. I hear it fall.

Splash!

Splash! Splash! Splash!

Again, the echoes. Gosh, the echoes.

My lips quiver. I can’t feel my legs anymore. Even the itch is gone.

I hear the giggle again. I hear the smile. I hear the laugh.

I see the laughter. I see the smile. I see the giggle.

I taste the dimple.

Then it nudges me.

I remember! I remember!

I would jump around like a monkey jubilantly. My limbs are numb.

Then it really hits me. I really remember.

It crashes into, no, stabs me like a bullet train moving with the momentum from the swing of a moon sized, planet hard sledgehammer wielded by a god the size of the universe.

How is the train still intact? I want to ponder.

I can’t.

Now I remember.

I allowed my fickle, fragile center be misbalanced, toppled by her.

Loving her was my only crime!

So, tell me, what do you think???

